CLOSE
Enter your search term and press enter. Press Esc or X to close.

About the Museum and Aquarium

 

Mission

The mission of the National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium is to inspire stewardship by creating educational experiences where history and rivers come alive.

Vision

Our vision is to become the world’s leader in interpreting and protecting the life, history and culture of our rivers, to create a more global, knowledgeable and engaged citizen.

The National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium is a property of the Dubuque County Historical Society. The Dubuque County Historical Society also operates the Mathias Ham Historic Site, is home to the National Rivers Hall of Fame, and supports a national outreach program called RiverWorks Discovery. For more information, we encourage you to explore our website and feel free to contact the institution at 563-557-9545. 

 

2018 Dubuque County Historical Society &
National Mississippi River Museum &
Aquarium Board of Directors

Mike Donohue, Chairman  |  Regional President, US Bank
Jim Gantz, Vice Chair  |  President, Pepsi-Cola Bottling Co.
Mike Budde, Secretary  |   President, Advanced Data Com (retired)
Lori Thielen, Treasurer  |  Rainbo Oil

Jeff Bertsch  |  Vice President, Flexsteel Industries Incorporated (retired)
John M. Bickel  |  Senior VP, Shuttleworth & Ingersoll (retired)
Carol Bitter  |  Legal Assistant, Bitter Law Firm (retired)
Gina Blasen |  Facility Engineering Man., John Deere Dubuque Works
Tim Butler  |  Vice President, Cottingham & Butler Insurance (retired)
Mark Dickson  |  General Manager, John Deere Dubuque Works
Ken Furst  |  Partner, McGladrey & Pullen LLP (retired)
John Gronen  |  Owner, Gronen Properties
Sarah Hasken  |   Unity Point Health Finley Hospital
Maurice Jones  |  Economic Development Director, City of Dubuque
Wendy Knight    Vice President, Institutional Effectiveness, NICC
Ernestine Moss  |  Community Leader (retired)
Francis A. “Chip” Murray |  President & CEO, First Community Trust
Zeny Renier  |  Community Leader
Stan Rheingans  |  Superintendent, Dubuque Community Schools
Chuck Schrup  |   Board Co-Chairman, American Trust & Savings Bank
Tom Woodward  |  Dir., Pres. & CEO, Woodward Communications, Inc.

Emeritus Board Members
John Walsh and Paul Woodward

No officers or board members receive any compensation.

Leadership Staff

Kurt Strand
President & CEO
kstrand@rivermuseum.com

Erin Dragotto
Vice President of Development
edragotto@rivermuseum.com

Andy Allison
Director of Living Collections
aallison@rivermuseum.com

Nate Breitsprecker
Director of Sales & Guest Services
nbreitsprecker@rivermuseum.com

Tom Lange
Director of Finance & Accounting
tlange@rivermuseum.com

John Oglesby
Director of Facilities
joglesby@rivermuseum.com

Wendy Scardino
Director of Marketing & Communications
wscardino@rivermuseum.com

Cristin Waterbury
Director of Curatorial Services
cwaterbury@rivermuseum.com

 

 

loading