Enter your search term and press enter. Press Esc or X to close.

Award Winners

Achievement Award Winners

The National Achievement Award is the highest honor presented by the National Rivers Hall of Fame to those people who are making significant contributions to America’s waterways. The National Rivers Hall of Fame with members in 36 states is the only national museum telling the stories of the people of America’s rivers.

Gary Lagrange

Honored in 2005

Gary LaGrange’s commitment to the maritime industry and inland waterways system is reflected in the numerous leadership positions he has held at state, regional, and national levels.

LaGrange has been chairman of the American Association of Port Authorities and vice- president of the National Waterways Council. In 2003 he was named Maritime Person of the Year. In his present position as President and Chief Executive Officer of the Port of New Orleans and in previous port positions, LaGrange has promoted the sustainable use of waterways, including our nation’s inland waterways system, as one method of easing traffic congestion and alleviating air pollution. One of LaGrange’s biggest accomplishments in his current position is that only a short time after Hurricane Katrina devastated New Orleans, his leadership brought the port back to one hundred percent performance.

LaGrange holds a B.A. from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and an M.A. from the University of South Louisiana. He is very active in a number of waterways advocacy groups, including the National Waterways Council.