Enter your search term and press enter. Press Esc or X to close.

Award Winners

Achievement Award Winners

The National Achievement Award is the highest honor presented by the National Rivers Hall of Fame to those people who are making significant contributions to America’s waterways. The National Rivers Hall of Fame with members in 36 states is the only national museum telling the stories of the people of America’s rivers.

Michael C. Hagan

Honored in 2008

Mike Hagan has been a part of America’s waterways industry for over 30 years and served as the American Commercial Lines (ACL) chief executive officer from 1991 to 2003 and as executive vice president from 1989 to 1991.

Hagan also founded MARC 2000 (Midwest Area River Coalition), which focused on future navigational needs for the Illinois and Mississippi rivers. MARC 2000 helped build grass roots and Congressional support to ensure that the 2007 Water Resources Development Act passed, which provided authorization for navigation infrastructure improvements that were vital to Midwest agricultural businesses and farming communities along the Illinois and Mississippi rivers.

Hagan’s vision and strategic initiative turned ACL into a 5,000-barge barge line and consolidated the industry to bring about financial stability to a trade that had a supply surplus for almost 20 years. As he grew ACL’s domestic operation, Hagan also had an unequaled vision and passion to grow in the South American market. He was involved with ventures in Venezuela, Santo Domingo, Argentina, and other locations, which he helped to develop into successful operations.

Mike Hagan currently serves as a board director at Ultrapetrol Bahamas Limited. We continue to value his profound marketing and economics knowledge, and we honor him for his leadership and commitment to the barge industry.