Enter your search term and press enter. Press Esc or X to close.

Award Winners

Achievement Award Winners

The National Achievement Award is the highest honor presented by the National Rivers Hall of Fame to those people who are making significant contributions to America’s waterways. The National Rivers Hall of Fame with members in 36 states is the only national museum telling the stories of the people of America’s rivers.

Rick Calhoun

Honored in 2016

Rick Calhoun is President of Cargo Carriers, and senior vice president of grain and oilseed supply chain North America for Cargill Inc., Minneapolis, MN.

Cargill operates 1,300 barges in its United States fleet and moved over 90 commodities via barge last year. Cargill has two state-of-the-art export facilities in the Louisiana Gulf as well as over 30 grain elevators and barge loading facilities that move U.S. grains and oilseeds to market. It also plays a role in the transportation of a multitude of other commodities up-river such as coal and steel to support domestic energy production and U.S. manufacturing, fertilizer for family farmers and road salt for northern municipalities preparing for icy winters.

Rick was honored recently as the recipient of the prestigious River Bell Award by the Seaman’s Church Institute.

At a Dec. 12, 2014 luncheon ceremony in Paducah, Ky., attended by more than 400 leaders from the inland waterway, barge and towboat industry, Calhoun was recognized for his highly significant contributions to the maritime industry.  Calhoun in particular was cited for his leadership efforts in advocating passage of major waterways infrastructure legislation in Congress – which is expected to receive final approval in April – and efforts to maintain Mississippi River navigation during low-water episodes during the 2012 drought.

Calhoun has served as chairman of the NGFA’s Waterborne Commerce Committee.  Previously, he served with distinction as NGFA’s industry chairman from 2002-04 and from 1994-2002 as a member of NGFA’s Board of Directors and Executive Committee.  He also is past chairman of Waterways Council Inc., the barge and towboat industry’s premier national trade association and national public policy organization advocating a modern and well-maintained national system of ports and inland waterways.